VEC Board of Directors Elections

VEC Board of Directors Elections

Johnson, VT – The Vermont Electric Cooperative (VEC) has three seats up for election on its twelve-member board of directors this year. Voting will begin in mid-April and conclude during VEC’s Annual Meeting of the Membership on Saturday, May 9 at Smugglers’ Notch Resort.

“Serving on the board is a great opportunity to be engaged in the dynamic, exciting electricity sector and at the same time serve your community,” said Rebecca Towne, VEC’s chief executive officer. “Even if you’ve never thought of yourself serving on the board of an organization like VEC, you might consider running – our members benefit from a mix of talented people with a wide range of experiences on the board,” she said.

VEC directors are responsible for assuring the co-op’s financial strength, developing long-term strategy, and representing the co-op in their communities, among other things. Board members, who serve four-year terms, participate in monthly board meetings and committee activities and have access to training opportunities. The board generally meets on the last Tuesday of each month at VEC's main office in Johnson. Board members receive a stipend and mileage reimbursement.

Below is a list of the seats that are up for election in 2020 and the towns they represent:

District 7: Alburgh, Grand Isle, Isle LaMotte, North Hero, South Hero

East Zone At-large: Albany, Averill, Averys Gore, Barton, Bloomfield, Brighton, Brownington, Brunswick, Canaan, Charleston, Conventry, Craftsbury, Derby, Ferdinand, Glover, Greensboro, Guildhall, Holland, Irasburg, Jay, Lemington, Lewis, Lowell, Lyndon, Maidstone, Morgan, Newark, Newport City, Newport Town, Norton, Sheffield, Sutton, Troy, Warners Grant, Warren Gore, Westfield, Westmore, Wheelock

West Zone At-large: Alburgh, Bakersfield, Belvidere, Berkshire, Bolton, Cambridge, Eden, Enosburg, Essex, Fairfax, Fairfield, Fletcher, Franklin, Georgia, Grand Isle, Highgate, Hinesburg, Huntington, HydePark, Isle LaMotte, Jericho, Johnson, Milton, Montgomery, Morristown, North Hero, Richford, Richmond, Sheldon, Shelburne, South Hero, Starksboro, Stowe, St. Albans Town, St. George, Swanton, Underhill, Waterville, Westford, Williston

In order to run for the board, a candidate must be a VEC member and must also have a principal residence within VEC service territory that is within the district they are running to represent. Candidates may not be employed by the cooperative.

Completed applications, including a petition signed by VEC members, are due by 4:30 p.m. on Thursday, March 19. The election will take place from April 14 through May 8 by mail and online as well as in person at VEC's annual meeting on Saturday, May 9. Please contact Laura Kinney at 802-635-2331 or at [email protected] to request application materials.