VEC Seeking Candidates for Board of Directors

VEC Seeking Candidates for Board of Directors

Johnson, Vt – Vermont Electric Co-op (VEC) is seeking petitions from eligible candidates for three board of directors’ seats that are up for election in May.

“VEC board members have a broad range of perspectives and backgrounds, care deeply about the community, and enjoy learning about and influencing energy issues,” said Rebecca Towne, VEC’s chief executive officer. “If this describes you – and you have a passion for safe, reliable and affordable electricity, then consider running for the VEC board this year.”

In order to run for the board, a candidate must be a VEC member and may not be employed by the cooperative. Candidates must have a principal residence within VEC service territory and in the district they are running to represent. Directors are elected to serve four-year terms. The board generally meets in the afternoon on the last Tuesday of each month, either at VEC's main office in Johnson or virtually via teleconference.

Directors receive a stipend and mileage reimbursement for attending meetings and have training opportunities to learn more about energy issues and the cooperative model.

Below is a list of the seats that are open in 2023 and the towns they represent:

District 1 Towns:

Averill, Averys Gore, Barton, Bloomfield, Brighton, Brownington, Brunswick, Canaan, Charleston, Ferdinand, Guildhall, Holland, Lemington, Lewis, Lyndon, Maidstone, Morgan, Newark, Norton, Sheffield, Sutton, Warners Grant, Warren Gore, Westmore, Wheelock

District 6 Towns:

Berkshire, Enosburg, Franklin, Georgia, Highgate, Montgomery, Richford, Sheldon, St. Albans Town, Swanton

West Zone At-large Towns:

Alburgh, Bakersfield, Belvidere, Berkshire, Bolton, Cambridge, Eden, Enosburg, Essex, Fairfax, Fairfield, Fletcher, Franklin, Georgia, Grand Isle, Highgate, Hinesburg, Huntington, Hyde Park, Isle LaMotte, Jericho, Johnson, Milton, Montgomery, Morristown, North Hero, Richford, Richmond, Sheldon, Shelburne, South Hero, Starksboro, Stowe, St. Albans Town, St. George, Swanton, Underhill, Waterville, Westford, Williston

To learn more or request application materials (available now through March 3, 2023) visit or email [email protected].