Annual Meeting & 2021 Election

Grid innovations, reliability, a new commitment to cleaner power, and accelerated broadband deployment were all front-and-center topics at Vermont Electric Co-op’s virtual Annual Meeting held Saturday, May 8. The meeting, entitled “An Adaptable Resilient Grid: Teaming up for a Bright Future,” was presided over by VEC Board President Rich Goggin of South Hero and featured a presentation from VEC Chief Executive Officer Rebecca Towne, a guest appearance from Lt Gov. Molly Gray, and the results of the Board of Directors election. (See below)

Results of the 2021 VEC Board of Directors Election

Paper Ballots: 2,693
Web Ballots: 1,101
Total Ballots: 3,794 (11.6%)

JOHN WARD 299 votes 41.5%
Hazen Converse 226 votes 31.4%
Penny Thomas 195 votes 27.1%
District 2 towns: Coventry, Derby, Newport City

Click here to read the candidate statements.

TOM BAILEY 904 votes 52.6%
Kristen Fountain 421 votes 24.5%
David Atkinson 199 votes 11.6%
William Gilbert 196 votes 11.4%
East Zone Towns: Albany, Averill, Averys Gore, Barton, Bloomfield, Brighton, Brownington, Brunswick, Canaan, Charleston, Conventry, Craftsbury, Derby, Ferdinand, Glover, Greensboro, Guildhall, Holland, Irasburg, Jay, Lemington, Lewis, Lowell, Lyndon, Maidstone, Morgan, Newark, Newport City, Newport Town, Norton, Sheffield, Sutton, Troy, Warners Grant, Warren Gore, Westfield, Westmore, Wheeloc

Click here to read the candidate statements.

941 votes 46.7%
Rich Westman 531 votes 26.3%
Peter Southwick 428 votes 21.2%
John DeWitt 117 votes 5.8%

West Zone towns: Alburgh, Bakersfield, Belvidere, Berkshire, Bolton, Cambridge, Eden, Enosburg, Essex, Fairfax, Fairfield, Fletcher, Franklin, Georgia, Grand Isle, Highgate, Hinesburg, Huntington, Hyde Park, Isle LaMotte, Jericho, Johnson, Milton, Montgomery, Morristown, North Hero, Richford, Richmond, Sheldon, Shelburne, South Hero, Starksboro, Stowe, St. Albans Town, St. George, Swanton, Underhill, Waterville, Westford, Williston

Click here to read the candidate statements.

VEC's 2020 Annual Meeting was held remotely on Tuesday, May 26 at 12 p.m.

2020 Annual Meeting Unapproved Minutes

2019 Annual Meeting Approved Minutes